It’s Been Awhile

2 Nov

Sorry I have not posted anything for a while.  My sisters and I have been working on finding assisted living for our parents.  My dad got sick in June and now needs to use a wheelchair to move around.  We tried making their home of 57 years work, but he needs more help than what can be provided at home.  So we found a nice assisted living apartment…but three days after mom and dad moved in, dad came down with pneumonia.  So he is in the nursing home trying to build his strength back up and mom is in the assisted living home by herself.  We emptied the house of their belongs and have it ready to sell so they can pay for all of this, which is very expensive. This is all so hard and not planned for very well. Both parents are in their 90’s and thought they would just live their days out in their home.  And we blindly went along with it. I have empathy for anyone going through this with their family.

But I am home now (I live 200 miles from my parents home) at least for a little while and trying to get life back on track.  More art post to follow.

2 Responses to “It’s Been Awhile”

  1. Laura (PA Pict) November 2, 2015 at 3:43 pm #

    I’ve watched my own parents deal with this situation. Still I can only imagine how emotionally and mentally exhausting it is to handle this situation. I hope everyone is healthy and happily settled soon.

Leave a Reply

