Quilt As You Go

13 Sep

Many years ago I signed up for a class to make a quilt as you go quilt.  I didn’t read the fine print and this quilt took a lot of hand stitching.  I don’t like hand stitching.  It took a very long time to finish.  Fast forward to this week when watching Sewing With Nancy and about half way into the show they showed a quilt as you go method that requires no hand sewing.  So I sat down at my sewing machine and finished this baby quilt in one afternoon.  I am very happy with the results.  Of course you can add more detail to the squares, but I just wanted something quick.  I about got booed out of the house as everyone here are Seahawk fans, but the baby’s family are die-hard Bronco fans, so it works.  I brought the backing fabric around the edges and finished it the same way I put the squares together. I mitered the corners simply by folding and pressing.

broncos
broncos2

 

Here is where I got information on how to make this quilt.
DeBeer

De Beer Designs Video

b
You can’t see the quilting in this picture, but about 13.30 minutes into the show there is a quick tutorial on quilt as you go.
Quilt by Donna Fenske on Sewing with Nancy.

One Response to “Quilt As You Go”

  1. Cathy Bowen September 14, 2014 at 5:33 pm #

    That looks really good, Marla

Leave a Reply

