Photo Quilt

29 May

I have been working on a quilt for my niece that recently graduated from college.  I took a picture and did some manipulation in photo shop and blew it up to the size I wanted for my quilt. I made two copies.  I took a permanent marker and traced around the areas that I want to do in different shades of gray and the facial features that would be cut out of material.  Then I labeled and cut these pieces out of one of the copies.  I used wonder-under on all of the fabric that I want to become the face.  Cut the fabric pieces and arranged them on the backing fabric using my extra copy as a guide.  When I had everything in place I followed the instructions on the wonder-under and pressed the fabric pieces in place.  Then I  layered the top fabric, batting and back fabric together, pinned and free-form quilted the face.  I used a quilt as you go method to finish the rest of the quilt.  I am pretty happy with the results and would give it a try again.

Leave a Reply

