How to make a Hat from a Sweater

23 Sep

I don’t knit.  No one would want any knitting that I have tried. But I can make a knit hat from a sweater!  I would say this would take a little sewing experience as it is not going to rip out easy if you make a mistake.  Pin and baste if you want the best results.  You can find great sweaters at the thrift shops.  If you find a wool one you can felt it by washing it in hot water and put it in the dryer to felt the wool.  You will have a very warm hat. (this will shrink the sweater a lot) Thank you Craft Style for the tutorial.

4 Responses to “How to make a Hat from a Sweater”

  1. Andrea Hood September 23, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    What a great idea Marla! Thanks for sharing:)

    • Marla's Art Page September 23, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      Think of all those fun hats you can make for your daughter!

  2. www.RoseRibbon.com September 23, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Hello! As you know, I am a frequent visitor to your blog, and I truly consider it a gift. I absolutely love anything to do with art, crafts, handmade gifts, and/or photography! Therefore, I’ve awarded you with The Versatile Blogger Award! View my blog to see the details. I hope it helps to bring you new readers. 🙂 Best of luck and congrats! ~Pam

    • Marla's Art Page September 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

      Thank you Pam for all of your kind words. It’s nice finding out a little more about you and I enjoy all of your comments. ~ Marla

Leave a Reply

