Paper Tulips

22 Mar

OK I really liked making the daffodils, so I thought how about making tulips to go with them.  Here is the link I used to make my tulips.  I loved how their tulips turned out, but I was on a roll with the coffee filters.  I used the template found at http://www.cheekymagpie.com/?p=964.

1. I cut 6 petals from one coffee filter and a small circle, about the size of a nickel.  Petals are about 2  inches high. (I doubled the coffee filters by gluing two together with a glue stick to make them thicker)
2. I used the glue stick to glue the tabs down first for each petal, and then painted a small amount of Tacky Glue over the top to make sure it stayed glued.
3. After they were dry I used  watercolor paint to get them the color (or colors) I liked. Paint circle too.
4. I used Tacky Glue to glue two petals to the outside of my circle across from each other, then two inside of those, and two on the underside of the circle for outside petals. Staggering the petals as I placed them on the circle.
5. I inserted a florist wire through the middle and glued a small amount of filter paper (painted) to the top for the stamen.
6. Then I cut out leaves, painted them green and glued them to the stem.

They are now ready for my spring bouquet.


Leave a Reply

